如何管理一个远程团队 已翻译 100%

oschina 投递于 2013/06/28 06:40 (共 27 段, 翻译完成于 06-29)
阅读 8083
收藏 205
11
加载中

A lot of energy has been expended over the last few months debating the merits of remote work. Unfortunately, not much information is shared about how to setup remote work so that you and your team can be successful.

After we posted our job for a content marketer, I got a lot of questions about remote working and how our team manages to make it work, so I thought I'd explain here.

Now, if you want to debate what's best: remote work or co-located work, this post isn't for you. But, if you want some ideas on how one team has setup their team to be successful at remote work, then stick around. This post is for you.

已有 2 人翻译此段
我来翻译

Our Journey

From day one, (October 2011) Zapier has always been a distributed team. Even though Bryan, Mike and I lived in the same city, we had different schedules and were bootstrapping Zapier on the side of our day jobs and school. We worked on Zapier in every spare moment we each had, but those moments didn't magically line up at the same time when we could work in the same room, so by necessity we became a remote team.

In June of 2012, we were accepted into Y Combinator and moved into a shared apartment in Mountain View, California. The next three months were the only period in our company's history where everyone has been in the same city at the same time.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

In August of 2012, Mike moved back to Missouri while his girlfriend was graduating law school and in October of 2012 we started hiring. And since we were already a distributed team it made sense to keep moving that way since we could hire people we knew were awesome, but just didn't live in the places we lived.

  • October 2012, Micah in Chicago, IL
  • January 2013, James in Columbia, MO
  • March 2013, Cooksey in Columbia, MO
  • July 2013, You in Anywhere, USA

Over the course of 21 months, we've learned a few things about building and managing a remote team. There are others with more experience at this than us. I'm not sure how large it will scale, though companies like GitHub, Automattic, Citrix and others have proven that it can be done. But if you're a small team and want to dip your toes into remote work, consider this your crash course.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

3 Ingredients of Successful Remote Working Setup

It's highly unlikely you could just pluck any random people, at any random moment in history, dispersed around the globe and expected them to build something amazing.

We've found there are three important ingredients to making remote work, well, work: Team, Tools, and Process.

Team

By far the most important of the ingredients is the team. Not everyone can work in a remote environment. Not everyone can manage a remote environment (though I suspect with a bit of time and learning that a lot of managers could figure out how to make it work). Therefore, it's important to assemble a team who is capable of executing in a remote environment. Here's what has made the best remote workers for us:

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

1. Hire Doers

Doers will get stuff done even if they are in Timbuktu. You don't have to give doers tasks to know that something will get done. You'll still have to provide direction and guidance around the most important things to be executed, but in the absence of that, a doer will make something happen.

2. Hire people you can trust

Remote work stops working when you can't trust the person on the other end of the line. If you continually find yourself worrying what someone is doing, then you are spending brain cycles focusing on something other than the product. Trust is key.

3. Trust the people you hire

The flip side of this is you also need to exhibit trust with the people you hire. As a manager, you need to learn to manage by expectations rather than by "butts in seat," so make sure you can show trust in those you hire.

4. Hire people who can write

In a co-located office, a lot of information is shared in-person. In a remote situation, everything is shared via written communication. Communication is one of the most important parts of remote team. Therefore, good writers are valuable.

5. Hire people who are ok without a social workplace

It'll be important to try to create some social aspects with a remote team. But the truth of the matter is that remote workplaces are usually less social than co-located ones. People on remote teams need to be ok with that. And the best remote workers will thrive in this type of environment.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

Tools

Tools are really important in a remote workplace because they enable you to better organize the team and keep everyone on the same page.

In a co-located facility you can always round up the team for an all-hands meeting to steer everyone on track. In a remote team, you'll need the right tools to make sure everyone stays on the same page and can continue to execute without a physical person standing next to them.

Here are some tools we've found handy:

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

1. Campfire

Campfire is our virtual office. If you're in Campfire then you're at work. A group chat room like Campfire is also great at creating camaraderie.

Depending on your team size, you'll want to make use of rooms in Campfire as well. At a certain size it can start to get noisy, so it makes sense to section off rooms into things like "water cooler", "engineering", "marketing", etc. I would hold off on this as long as possible though.

Chilling in Campfire

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

2. Sqwiggle

Sqwiggle is a persistant video chat room, but instead of having a live video feed on all the time like you might do with Skype or Google Hangouts, Sqwiggle takes a picture of you every 8 seconds. It's a great way to see everyone at their workspace while they are working. And whenever you do want to chat with a person you can just click a button and you'll have a live video chat up in less than a second.

Zapier Using Sqwiggle

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

3. Email

Everyone likes to hate on email, but in a remote team it's still immensely valuable because, no matter what, you aren't going to take email out of someone's daily routine.

We have email setup with lists that let you easily ping the whole team if you'd like. This makes it easy to involve the whole team in discussions and it's documented for reference should you need it. A great example of a company using email effectively is Stripe. While they aren't a remote team, the process could easily be replicated in a remote setting.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

4. Trello

Zapier Roadmap

Trello acts as our default roadmap. Anytime we have something we'd like to do, we add it to a to-do list in Trello. In most situations, you'll find yourself creating way too many cards trying to do too many things. The trick we use to avoid getting card overload in Trello is that in order to create a card you also have to write a detailed description of what the feature is, why it's important, and what the results of a successful implementation of this feature should look like.

This works great for remote teams, because if anyone in the company is looking for something to do, they can just go pick a card off the Trello board and know that it's going to be a positive feature for the product/company.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译
本文中的所有译文仅用于学习和交流目的,转载请务必注明文章译者、出处、和本文链接。
我们的翻译工作遵照 CC 协议,如果我们的工作有侵犯到您的权益,请及时联系我们。
加载中

评论(21)

D
Denny214
其实最关键的就是远程的老板定时发工资,做了事老不给钱,一拖再拖,鬼才给你认真干活
max_sun
max_sun
学习一下
比尔白吃
比尔白吃
这个方案真的好棒。中国有这样的公司吗?
Bill_Wang
Bill_Wang
全世界的IT界, 都应该有更多这种形式的工作方式. IT本来就不用聚集在一起. 节省大量上下班的时间多好. 对于在大城市工作的, 可以知己诶班会老家工作. 但是我们也看到了, 对团队管理有比较高的要求, 同时对职员要求也比一般公司高, 不过高要求产生的好处总是很多的.
中国就更不用说, 上面大家已经说出来了, 搞IT的挤在北上广没有任何好处, 生活的各种成本, 上下班折腾, 各种不方便. 在家工作多好.
张军峰
张军峰
如果不用租房,挤公车去上班,那岂不气死 北上广那些黑心黑肺黑场子的出租户。

当然,我非常乐见这样的结果。
JAVA世界
JAVA世界
期待这样的工作方式
yiqing95
yiqing95
顶一个
mahengyang
mahengyang
一直期待着这样的公司,在一线城市买不起房,如果有这种方式的话,搞it的就可以不用都挤到北上广群租了,也没有上下班的拥挤,生活工作两不误
lucasli
lucasli
真正的主动性国人还真不如老外,如果,后面有人时刻盯着,那国人的勤奋程度远超世界其他国家。
泡不烂的凉粉
泡不烂的凉粉

引用来自“李绪”的评论

在中国很难

你错了. 这个国度有太多的外包.
返回顶部
顶部

如何管理一个远程团队 已翻译 100%

oschina 投递于 2013/06/28 06:40 (共 27 段, 翻译完成于 06-29)
阅读 7593
收藏 206
11
加载中

过去的几个月里耗尽了大量的精力一直在争论远程工作的是非曲直。不幸地是,关于建立远程工作,让你的团队更加成功,没有太多的经验共享出来。

在我们发出对content marketer招聘信息后,我收到好多关于远程工作的疑问,以及我们团队如何管理运作的?所以我想我应该在此解释一下。

现在,如果你想去争论关于远程工作和本地工作那个是更好的,请忽略这篇帖子。但是,如果你想得到一些关于如何建立一个远程团队使得工作能更好的开展等的建议,那请关注这个帖子。他就是为你而写的。

桔子
桔子
翻译于 2013/06/28 09:31
1

我们的经历

从第一天起,(2011年10月)Zapier就一直是一只分布式的团队。尽管Bryan、Mike和我主在同一个城市里,我们每个人的时间安排不同,并且一步步把Zapier建立在我们的工作和学习之外。每当我们有空闲时间的时候都用在Zapier,但是这些时间并非自动的出现在我们能够在一起工作的时候段里,因此不可避免的,我们成为了一个远程团队。

在2012年6月我们被Y Combinator接收,并且搬进了California的Mountain View的一间公共公寓。接下来的三个月,是我们的公司历史中唯一一个所有员工都在同一个城市中的时间段。

尚御博豪
尚御博豪
翻译于 2013/06/28 09:57
1

2012年8月,Mike搬回了Missouri因为他的女朋友从司法学校毕业;并且在2012年的10月,我们开始雇佣员工。由于我们曾经就是个分布式的团队,因此它使得继续实行这个方案变为可能,因为我们需要雇佣那些我们认为出色的人,但是这些人并不与我们住在同一个地方。

  • 2012年10月,Micah在芝加哥
  • 2013年1月,James在哥伦比亚
  • 2013年3月,Cooksey在哥伦比亚
  • 2013年7月,你在美国的任意地方

在过去的21个月中,我们已经学到了一些关于构建和管理一支远程团的东西。当然还有在这方面比我们更有经验的人。我不大确定它的规模会有多大,像GitHub、Automattic和Citrix这样的公司,以及其他一些公司,已经证明这是可行的。但是如果你是一个小团队,并且想要涉足远程工作,把它看做速成教程吧。

尚御博豪
尚御博豪
翻译于 2013/06/28 10:17
1

成功的远程工作设置的3点要素

要是你随便找个事件,随便找一堆分散在全球各地的人,并希翼他们能做出什么惊天动地的东西,少年,洗洗睡吧。

我们发现,在远程工作——只是工作中,有三个要素:团队,工具,和进度

团队

团队是现今最重要的一个元素。并非所有人都能够在远程环境下工作。也不是所有人都能够管理一个远程工作环境(不过我觉得,只需要一点点时间,任何经理人都能够明白如何使其工作)。因此,组建一个有能力在远程环境下执行的团队至关重要。下面是如何雇佣到一个最好的远程工作者的建议:

K6F
K6F
翻译于 2013/06/28 11:25
2

1、雇佣踏实肯干的人

即使身处撒哈拉沙漠Timbuktu,这样的人也会把手头的工作做好。这样的员工你不用天天催着他们如何如何完成工作,你要做的是掌握公司发展方向,监督核心业务的执行情况就行了。一句话,有这样的员工是老板的幸福。

2、雇佣你信任的人

如果你不信任在远程办公的员工,那么这种工作模式就很难真正实行起来。如果你发现你始终在担心远程办公的员工是否在偷懒等类似的问题,就说明你的考虑重心已经偏离你的业务了。记住,这个时候信任是关键。

3、信任你的员工

另一方面,你必须对员工表现出你的信任。作为一个管理者,你要学会让员工对公司的发展有所期望,而不是仅仅一屁股坐在椅子上。这个很关键的就是对员工展现出你对他们的信任。

4、雇佣文笔好的员工

在本地办公的模式下,很多信息是人与人之间的直接交流,但是在远程办公的情况下,很多信息只能靠写下来,但对于一个团队来说,交流又是非常主要的,所以,好的文笔对远程办公的模式来说是非常有用的。

5、雇佣那些不依赖职场社交的员工

对一个远程办公的团队来说,建立一些社交联系也是非常重要的,但一般来说,远程办公这种模式比本地办公在社交联系上有先天的劣势,因此远程办公的员工必须能适应这一情况。一个优秀的远程办公员工可以做在这种环境下很高兴的工作。

Andy
Andy
翻译于 2013/06/28 10:38
1

工具

好的工具对远程办公来说非常重要,它可以帮我们有效的组织团队,统一思想。

在本地办公的模式下,你可以通过全体会议的形式来管理员工。但对于远程团队,我们不可能盯在每一个员工的身后,我们就需要一些工具来实现这些目的。下面是我们发现的一些有用的工具:

Andy
Andy
翻译于 2013/06/28 10:43
1

1、Campfire

Campfire是一个虚拟办公室软件,登录进了Campfire就可以开始开始工作,其带有的群体聊天功能也会增进员工之间的关系。

根据你团队的规模,来使用Campfire的房间功能。如果团队人数多到一定程度,可能就会产生很多无用的信息,影响交流,这个时候我们可以根据实际情况建立独立的房间,例如:“”water cooler","工程部",“市场部”等,这一切完全取决于你,我们就此打住。

Chilling in Campfire 
Andy
Andy
翻译于 2013/06/28 10:54
1

2. Sqwiggle

Sqwiggle是一个持续视频聊天室,但是不用像Skype和谷歌Hangouts那样视频直播的形式,而是每8秒传输一个张图片的形式实现。让所有人看到你工作地场景这非常不错。如果你想和某个人私聊,你只要点击一下按钮,你会马上可以实时视频直播。

Zapier Using Sqwiggle

桔子
桔子
翻译于 2013/06/28 11:51
1

3. 邮件

大家都很讨厌E-mail,但是对一个远程团队邮件作用不可估量,因为,无论如何你的日常工作都离不开邮件。

我们建了一个邮件列表,让你能在需要时很方便给整个团队发邮件。这很方便让整个都加入到问题讨论,而且他可以记录所有的信息,在你需要时候可以作为指导。一个大公司高效利用邮件的例子是Stripe。虽然他们没有远程团队,但是他们的做法可以很方便的在远程团队中实施。

桔子
桔子
翻译于 2013/06/28 11:19
1

4. Trello

Zapier Roadmap

Trello在我们的团队中扮演了默认路标的角色。每次我们有一项工作要做时,我们都把它加入到Trello 的to-do列表。在大多数情况下,我会发现你卡片上要记录密密麻麻的如许多的工作。我们避免Trello卡片内容超多的一个使用技巧是,我们每形成一个卡片,都要记录详细的描述,包括特性是什么?为什么比较重要以及将来预期的结果是什么样的。

这个工组对远程团队来说非常重要,由于公司中每一个人都会找事做,他们会Trello的面板上挑出认为是对公司/产品最紧要的任务。

桔子
桔子
翻译于 2013/06/28 11:37
1
本文中的所有译文仅用于学习和交流目的,转载请务必注明文章译者、出处、和本文链接。
我们的翻译工作遵照 CC 协议,如果我们的工作有侵犯到您的权益,请及时联系我们。
加载中

评论(21)

D
Denny214
其实最关键的就是远程的老板定时发工资,做了事老不给钱,一拖再拖,鬼才给你认真干活
max_sun
max_sun
学习一下
比尔白吃
比尔白吃
这个方案真的好棒。中国有这样的公司吗?
Bill_Wang
Bill_Wang
全世界的IT界, 都应该有更多这种形式的工作方式. IT本来就不用聚集在一起. 节省大量上下班的时间多好. 对于在大城市工作的, 可以知己诶班会老家工作. 但是我们也看到了, 对团队管理有比较高的要求, 同时对职员要求也比一般公司高, 不过高要求产生的好处总是很多的.
中国就更不用说, 上面大家已经说出来了, 搞IT的挤在北上广没有任何好处, 生活的各种成本, 上下班折腾, 各种不方便. 在家工作多好.
张军峰
张军峰
如果不用租房,挤公车去上班,那岂不气死 北上广那些黑心黑肺黑场子的出租户。

当然,我非常乐见这样的结果。
JAVA世界
JAVA世界
期待这样的工作方式
yiqing95
yiqing95
顶一个
mahengyang
mahengyang
一直期待着这样的公司,在一线城市买不起房,如果有这种方式的话,搞it的就可以不用都挤到北上广群租了,也没有上下班的拥挤,生活工作两不误
lucasli
lucasli
真正的主动性国人还真不如老外,如果,后面有人时刻盯着,那国人的勤奋程度远超世界其他国家。
泡不烂的凉粉
泡不烂的凉粉

引用来自“李绪”的评论

在中国很难

你错了. 这个国度有太多的外包.
返回顶部
顶部