Docker 开放管理咨询委员会 已翻译 100%

oschina 投递于 2014/05/01 07:49 (共 8 段, 翻译完成于 05-08)
阅读 2396
收藏 19
3
加载中

This morning, the Docker project leadership announced a proposal for a Docker Governance Advisory Board (or DGAB), as a next step towards a fully open governance model for Docker.

The short story is that the Docker Governance Advisory Board will provide input to the Docker project leadership on a broad range of topics, including the project roadmap, policies and procedures around contribution, core criteria for Docker-compliant products, and the long term governance structure of the Docker project. Membership on the advisory board will be open to individuals, corporations and users alike, and will be determined transparently by code contribution and other objective factors. No sponsorship or fee will be required to join the advisory board. Board membership criteria and selection, and all output from board meetings, will be made public.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

The full text of our proposal is available at http://docker.io/governance. We will be taking feedback and comments on the proposal, as well as nominations for membership, over the next three weeks. However, I’d like to explain a little bit about what we are hoping to accomplish with the DGAB.

WHY WE ARE FORMING THE BOARD

In the 13 months since the Docker project launched, Docker – and the ecosystem around it – have experienced phenomenal growth. As of today, we have over 400 contributors to the project, over 11,000 “Dockerized” apps in the library, and Docker containers have been downloaded over 1.5 M times. More than just a project, Docker has become an ecosystem and, increasingly, a platform on which thousands of organizations and individuals are building and making long term bets.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

There are now over 5,500 projects on GitHub with the word “Docker” in their title. A wide range of companies have announced integration of Docker into their products. And, an increasing number of organizations are building Docker into the plans for their next generation data centers. While we’re very proud of how “open” Docker is already, we wanted to make sure that we provided the people and organizations who are making a long-term bet on Docker with a way to provide coordinated input into the future of Docker.

WHAT WILL THE BOARD DO

The primary purpose of the DGAB is to advise the Docker project leadership on matters related to supporting the long term governance, structure, and roadmap of the Docker project.

The following main areas are included in this charter:

  1. Provide a forum for individuals, users, and companies to discuss the issues and formulate recommendations for those issues.

  2. Provide guidance and input to the project’s leadership, and where possible, present a consistent and consolidated opinion from the broader Docker community.

  3. Produce a formal, twice yearly, report to the project leadership and broader Docker community of the status of and progress made in all areas under the purview of the DGAB.

  4. Promote and support the use of Docker in manner consistent with Guiding Principles of the project and the Core Criteria.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

SOME GUIDING PRINCIPLES FOR THE DESIGN OF THE BOARD

In designing the initial proposal,  we looked carefully at a number of other governance approaches. While we found things that we liked and didn’t like in almost every model (in general, we really like the Linux Kernel model), we think that Docker is at a unique stage in its lifecycle, and we want to craft a model that is appropriate for where we are as a project. Here are some of the considerations:

1) First, do no harm. Make sure governance stays both open and effective

As mentioned above, we designed Docker to be a very open project from the outset. We use one of the most permissive licenses (Apache 2.0). We encourage broad participation (over 95% of contributors don’t work for Docker, Inc., including some of the core maintainers). We have an open design philosophy, use a common set of open tools for all contributions & contributors, and use the lightweight DCO process, rather than requiring CLAs.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

Partially as a result, we’ve gotten very broad-based participation in Docker as a project, and a huge amount of momentum in the ecosystem as the whole. The project itself is advancing at an amazing clip (66 releases comprising over 7700 commits in the past year), and the last thing we want to do is weigh the project down with bureaucracy.

As a result, we are not looking to create a foundation or governance board now.  The project leadership (including Docker creator and chief maintainer Solomon Hykes and the core maintainer team), will continue to set the priorities and make the final decisions about the direction of the project. But, the advisory group will provide a strong, coordinated, and public voice for the project’s important constituencies. We should also make it clear that the DGAB is intended to enhance – and not substitute for – the current mechanisms for community input. We are committed to open governance and effective governance. We think this step strikes the right balance for this stage of the project.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

2) Do things in the open

The proposal and documentation behind the DGAB, the selection criteria & process, and the output of meetings will all be public and available for comment.

3) Represent the various constituencies

The DGAB has seats reserved for the various constituencies who are making long term investments in Docker, this includes:

  • The individuals who are investing time and effort to contribute to the project.

  • Users who are deploying Docker (and providing use cases describing their experiences).

  • Companies that are incorporating Docker into their products and services.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

4) Contribute-to-play vs. pay-to-play

Membership on the DGAB (and influence on the project in general), comes from contribution. There is no fee to join the board. The top contributors (and maintainers) are automatically given a seat on the board. Companies can only get on the board if they are both top contributors and agree to implement Docker-based solutions in a manner consistent with the project as a whole.

5) Keep the project and ecosystem self sustaining

Beyond the effort needed in the code base itself, the Docker ecosystem as a whole needs investment: to maintain a large index of publicly available Docker images, to produce training materials, to on-board and enable derivative projects, to enforce trademarks, etc. We think that this long-term investment is better assured under the current project leadership/ownership than by making the project dependent on financial donations.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译

6) Create a level playing field, avoid “Docker washing”

If Docker is to be an effective platform, we think it is important that projects that use the Docker trademark adhere to certain core criteria. We want the DGAB and the community as a whole to help define the specifics of these criteria. General items that we think are important to discuss include: use of standard APIs, consistent behaviors expected of Docker containers, trademark guidelines, provenance, upstream contribution models, and alternative distributions.

IN CONCLUSION

We’d really like to thank the members of the community, as well as corporate partners like IBM, Rackspace, and Red Hat, who have provided guidance and support throughout this process. As a reminder, we are looking for comments on the proposal itself, as well as nominations for membership. For more detail, please go to docker.io/governance.

已有 1 人翻译此段
我来翻译
本文中的所有译文仅用于学习和交流目的,转载请务必注明文章译者、出处、和本文链接。
我们的翻译工作遵照 CC 协议,如果我们的工作有侵犯到您的权益,请及时联系我们。
加载中

评论(7)

二进制艺术
二进制艺术
支持
n
nahum
期待
Jekey
Jekey

renwofei423
renwofei423

强力支持、关注!

MarvinGuo
MarvinGuo

支持

第三方支付接口
第三方支付接口

做强。。。

AnthonyYau
AnthonyYau

做大…

返回顶部
顶部

Docker 开放管理咨询委员会 已翻译 100%

oschina 投递于 2014/05/01 07:49 (共 8 段, 翻译完成于 05-08)
阅读 2396
收藏 19
3
加载中

今天早上,Docker 项目的负责人 发表 了一份Docker管理咨询委员会(或叫 DGAB)的提案, 作为 Docker 迈向一个完整的开放管理模式的下一步。

这短故事说的是 Docker管理咨询委员会 将为Docker项目领导提供录入广泛的议题,包括项目路线图,政策,贡献的程序,Docker兼容产品的核心标准,还有Docker项目的长期管理架构。咨询委员会会员制将对个人,公司和用户同等开放,并通过代码贡献和其他客观因素将决定透明化。加入咨询委员会不需要赞助和交费,委员会会议的产出将予以公开。

AndyLam
AndyLam
翻译于 2014/05/01 18:53
1

我们完整的提案可以参看 http://docker.io/governance。在接下来的三星期,我们接受提案的反馈和评论,以及成员提名。不过,我想解释一下我们希望通过委员会完成的内容。

为何我们在组建委员会

在自项目推出的13个月以来—— Docker 和它周围的生态系统 —— 经历了惊人的增长。 截至今天,这个项目有超过400个贡献者,在库超过11,000 Docker化的应用程序,Docker 容器已被下载超过150万次。这不仅仅是一个项目,Docker 已成为一个生态系统并逐渐地,成为数千的组织以及个人 在构建和长期投资的平台。

AndyLam
AndyLam
翻译于 2014/05/01 19:20
1

如今,GitHub上有超过5500个项目的名称中都带有“Docker”这个词。大量的公司已经宣布会把Docker集成到它们的产品里。另外,越来越多的组织正在为把Docker融合到它们的下一代数据中心里制定规划。虽然我们非常自豪Doker是如此“开放”,但是我们需要确保我们能为哪些长期关注Docker的人们和组织提供一种能把它们的想法融进Docker未来版本的方法。

开放治理委员会的工作

Docker开放治理咨询委员会的主要目标是就Docker长期管理、构建和发展蓝图等事项向项目领导层提出建议。

以下是委员会管理章程里所包含的主要内容:

  1. 给个人、用户和公司提供一个讨论问题的论坛,然后根据问题的讨论结果制定出建议书。

  2. 为Docket项目领导层提出指导方针和建议,如果可能的话,将把各个Docker社团提出的建议统一、合并。

  3. 每两年给项目领导层和各Docker社团生成一份报告,这份报告主要汇集的是Docker治理咨询管理委员会的状态以及其在所涉及的各个领域取得的进展。

  4. 依据项目指导原则和核心标准推广Docker,并提供支持。

几点人
几点人
翻译于 2014/05/07 14:34
1

成立委员会所遵循的指导原则

在起草成立建议书的时候,我们仔细查阅了大量其他管理方法。几乎在每一种管理方法里,我们都能看到喜欢和不喜欢的东西,(我们真的喜欢Linux内核的管理方法),我们认为Docker目前已经处在它生命的全新阶段,因此我们需要规划一种适合管理这个项目的方式。下面是我们的一些想法:

1)首先,不做伤害任何人和任何物的事情 。确保管理既做到开放,又要保持高效  

如上文所述, 从一开始Docker就是一个非常开放的项目。我们所使用的许可是最宽松的许可(阿帕奇2.0许可)。我们鼓励任何人和组织参与这个项目(95%以上的贡献者,其中包括一些核心维护者都不在Docker公司工作。)。我们秉承开放的设计哲学,所有版本发布的管理和贡献者都使用的是常见的开放工具,而且我们使用的是轻量级的开发者自己的授权 的方式,而不是要求授权时采用贡献者许可协议。

几点人
几点人
翻译于 2014/05/07 21:22
1

正是由于这些措施的鼓励,越来越多的个人和组织参与到Dock项目里,而且整个Docker生态系统突飞猛进。Docker项目自身也已惊人的速度向前推进(过去一年就有66次发布,这些发布总共包含7700多次的提交),我们当前要做的事情是管理项目,从而为项目减负。

因此,目前我们不寻求创建基金会或者管理委员会。项目的领导层(包括Docker的创建者和主要维护者所罗门.海克斯以及核心维护团队)继续决定要做的事情的轻重缓急,并最终决定项目的发展方向。同时,项目顾问团队为主要拥护者提供一个强大的 、有序的公共表达渠道。我们还清楚的说明Docker开放治理委员会的目标是增强当前社团的讨论机制,而不是取代它。我们将一如既往的坚持开放管理和高效管理。我们认为这种管理方式与项目目前的发展阶段相适应。

几点人
几点人
翻译于 2014/05/07 22:21
1

2) 光明正大

在DGAB的提议和所有文档过程中,包括筛选标准和流程, 以及所有会议结果都是开放并接收comments的.

3) 代表不同的声音

DGAB为那些意在投资Docker的人保有一席一地,内容如下:

  • 为该项目投资时间和精力的个人.

  • 部署使用Docker的人(介绍其使用经验).

  • 将Docker引入自己项目使用的公司.

petert
petert
翻译于 2014/05/01 18:08
1

4) 贡献与金钱

Docker治理咨询管理委员会成员的资格(也通常对项目具有影响力)取决于其贡献。加入委员会不需要支付任何费用。顶级贡献者(和维护者)会自动成为委员会成员。公司只有在其 既是顶级贡献者, 同意以完整项目的方式实现各种Docker方案才能成为委员会成员。

5) 让项目及其生态系统自我成长

除了对项目代码进行编写之外,Docker生态系统各个方面都需要投资: 维护大量公有的Docker映像,编写培训资料、正在进行的项目及其衍生项目,商标保护等等。我们认为与仰仗资金捐献相比,项目领导层或者所有者长期投入更能确保项目发展。

几点人
几点人
翻译于 2014/05/07 22:51
1

6)打造一个高水平的运行平台,而不仅仅是“玩玩Docker”

如果想把Docker打造成一个高效的平台,我认为使用Docker上边的所有项目必须遵循某一核心标准这一点非常重要。我们希望整个Docker治理咨询管理委员会和社团能帮助制定这些标准的详细规范。我们认为值得讨论的问题包括:标准应用程序接口的用法,Docker各种容器统一操作,商标使用指南,最初发布模式、追溯上次发布的模式和其他发布模式。

结束语

我们非常感谢社团成员以及像IBM、RackSpace和红帽子这样至始至终给我们提供指导和支持的合作伙伴。另外,特别提醒一下:我们渴望您对我们这份建议书以及成员资格的提名多提些建议或者意见。想获区管理委员会更详尽的信息,请点这里

几点人
几点人
翻译于 2014/05/07 23:46
1
本文中的所有译文仅用于学习和交流目的,转载请务必注明文章译者、出处、和本文链接。
我们的翻译工作遵照 CC 协议,如果我们的工作有侵犯到您的权益,请及时联系我们。
加载中

评论(7)

二进制艺术
二进制艺术
支持
n
nahum
期待
Jekey
Jekey

renwofei423
renwofei423

强力支持、关注!

MarvinGuo
MarvinGuo

支持

第三方支付接口
第三方支付接口

做强。。。

AnthonyYau
AnthonyYau

做大…

返回顶部
顶部